Home Biography Discography Media On Tour

Media


Ross Porter of Jazz FM has selected NOJO - Explores the Dark Side of the Moon as one of his picks for top album of 2010.

" A Canadian band that is one of the most imaginative large ensembles on the current jazz scene…the real fascination of the album is the work of the co-leaders, compelling in virtually every composition, and often free of the sectionalized approach to instrumentation typical of most big-band writing."

Don Heckman
Los Angeles Times

 

"They clearly have a lot of fun playing and their enthusiasm is contagious. In fact, the only other large ensemble I've heard recently that matches NOJO's high energy and musicianship is the acclaimed Mingus Big Band."

Joel Roberts
allaboutjazz.com

 

"Innovative and accessible, their writing makes NOJO an important band to be reckoned with."

Peter Hum
Ottawa Citizen

 

“I thought I’d stay for just a few tunes but this band drew me in with their imaginative compositions, arrangements, and solos, which combined 60’s go-go beats, rippling West African dance patterns, srrealist swinging carnival music, and hypnotic middle eastern trance songs. I picked up a couple of their CD’s on the way out so that I won’t forget Paul Neufeld’s rocking “The Human Blockhead” or Michael Occhipinti’s shimmering high-wire tribute to “The Great Farini.”

Larry Appelbaum
JazzTimes

 

“I really enjoy playing with bands that have their own thing together, and NOJO sounded really good to me.”

Joe Lovano

 

“The Neufeld-Occhipinti Jazz Orchestra is a Canadian treasure…there is a sense of joy in NOJO’s playing. You get the impression they are really having fun.”

Frank Rubalino
Cadence

 

“Freewheeling and yet remarkably controlled, with NOJO anything is possible”

Richard Moule
Exclaim


UPC 068478443828
CATALOG # TNE 5032

MIXED & ENGINEERED FEDGE
MASTERED BY FEDGE
ARTWORK BY Mitchell Nevins



  Links

Michael Occhipinti www.michaelocchipinti.com
Paul Neufeld www.paulneufeld.ca
True North Records www.truenorthrecords.com
Rounder www.rounder.com
Mars Jazz www.marsjazz.com
Don Byron www.donbyron.com
Sam Rivers www.rivbea.com
Rayan Anderson www.rayananderson.com
Joe Lovano www.joelovano.com
Jazz Promo www.jazzpromo.com
All About Jazz www.allaboutjazz.com





  Publicity Contact

JESSICA MOORE jessica@truenorthrecords.com
True North Records (905) 681 - 8160 ext. 234


  Booking Contact

NOJO MUSIC info@nojomusic.com

 





downloads
One Sheet
Quote Sheet

purchase
True North Records
iTunes

follow us
Facebook
Twitter



    

© 2010 Neufeld-Occhipinti Jazz Orchestra.