Home Biography Discography Media On Tour

LABEL True North Records
ARTIST Neufeld-Occhipinti Jazz Orchestra (NOJO)
TITLE Explores the Dark Side of the Moon
DATE Tuesday, June 15, 2010

We reunite once again for our 6th release ‘Explores The Dark Side of the Moon’. Featuring 8 newly arranged, original tracks from ‘Pink Floyd - The Dark Side of the Moon’ recorded live in Toronto, this album is scheduled only for a digital release on True North Records. ‘Explores The Dark Side of the Moon’ will be available online Tuesday, June 15, just in time for father’s day!

From its JUNO winning debut in 1995, NOJO has been dedicated to performing original music exclusively and each of the bands 5 CDs has been critically acclaimed and JUNO nominated. 2009 marked the band’s 15th anniversary, and co-leaders Paul Neufeld and Michael Occhipinti decided to do something different. With all the interest in the world of classic rock, and numerous cover bands, broadway musicals and rock productions trying to exactly replicate famous recordings, Neufeld and Occhipinti decided that they wanted to do something closer to the more rebellious spirit of the artists who created what is now called “classic” rock, and initiated a series of concerts where NOJO would perform a famous rock album, using original arrangements that both stayed true to the original material in spirit and yet took the music in new, often exploratory directions. Starting with Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of The Moon, the band has also performed live shows featuring Led Zeppelin IV and Rush’s Moving Pictures, resulting in an overwhelming response from band members and audiences which leaves room to continue to explore other albums in the future.

“A Canadian band that is one of the most imaginative large ensembles on the current jazz scene… the real fascination of the album is the work of the co-leaders, compelling in virtually every composition, and often free of the sectionalized approach to instrumentation typical of most big-band writing”   DON HECKMAN – LOS ANGELES TIMES


UPC 068478443828

ARTWORK BY Mitchell Nevins

The Musicians

Michael Occhipinti guitars
Paul Neufeld keyboards

Ernie Tollar alto sax, soprano sax
Andy Ballantyne alto sax
Patricia Wheeler tenor sax
Scott Marshall tenor sax
Sean O’Connor baritone sax, bass clarinet
Jason Logue trumpet
Kevin Turcotte trumpet
Lina Allemano trumpet
Stephen Donald trombone
Scott Suttie trombone
Gord Myers bass trombone
Doug Burrell tuba
Jordan O’Connor double bass
Barry Romberg drums

 Track Listing

1. Breathe (Waters, Gilmour, Wright) *
2. On the Run (Gilmour, Waters) -
3. Time (Mason, Wright, Waters, Gilmour) *
4. The Great Gig in the Sky (Wright, Torry) -
5. Money (Waters) *
6. Us and Them (Waters, Wright) -
7. Any Colour You Like (Gilmour, Mason, Wright) *
8. Brain Damage/ Eclipse (Waters) -
* Arranged by Paul Neufeld
- Arranged by Michael Occhipinti

Recorded Live in Toronto, Canada
The Lula Lounge, February 21, 2010.

Published by Pink Floyd Music Publishing.

One Sheet
Quote Sheet

True North Records

follow us


© 2010 Neufeld-Occhipinti Jazz Orchestra.